Engineers' Society of Western Pennsylvania


337 Fourth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Phone: (412) 261-0710 Email: Get Directions

ESWP Annual Banquet Recap

Thanks to the more than 420 guests who attended ESWP’s 133rd Annual Banquet on February 15, the event was a big success.  Held at the Westin Hotel, the evening was filled with good food and fellowship, uplifting messages and entertaining presentations.  Congratulations to all of the award recipients in our Project of the Year program as well as ESWP’s Engineer of the Year, Jim Foringer of PennDOT District 11-0, and a special recognition for Dr. Deb Lange upon receiving ESWP’s Metcalf Award, the first female to do so in the history of the 53-year old award.

ESWP Announces 2016 Award Winners

Congratulations to all of the 2016 ESWP Award recipients, starting with our Engineer of the Year: Jim Foringer, Assistant District Executive-Construction for PennDOT 11-0.  Our Projects of the Year recipients are as follows: in the Commercial category, we are pleased to recognize UPMC Lemieux Sports Complex; in the Industrial category, we are pleased to recognize the Center Township Potable Water Source of Supply Transmission and Interim Water Treatment Facility; in the Innovative Construction Methods, we are pleased to recognize Milton-Madison Bridge Project; in the Sustainable category, we are pleased to recognize Lower Hill Infrastructure; and finally, in the Transportation category, we are pleased to recognize Hulton Bridge.  All of these awards will be presented at the February 15 Annual Awards Banquet.

Annual Banquet Highlights

The Annual Awards Banquet took place on February 18th and was attended by over 400 members and their guests.  The dinner was enjoyed by all and the program that followed included University of Pittsburgh and CMU Awards, the presentation of the Engineer, Projects of the Year and Metcalf Awards.  Folks then listened intently to Buddy Hobart, founder of Solutions21.  You can view the banquet video here.

ESWP announces Award Winners

The ESWP Annual Awards Committee is pleased to announce the following recipients of our 2015 Project of the Year Awards. These awards will be presented at the ESWP Annual Engineering Awards Banquet on Thursday, February 18 at the Westin Convention Center Hotel.

Transportation Category Award Winner: East Liberty Transit Center
Commercial Category Award Winner: Industrial Scientific Corporate Headquarters
Advanced Technology Award Winner: Christchurch Sample Testing and Analysis
Sustainability Category Award Winner: Edgewater at Oakmont