Engineers' Society of Western Pennsylvania


337 Fourth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Phone: (412) 261-0710 Email: Get Directions


The 2024 International Bridge Conference was held over June 3-6, in San Antonio, TX. Nearly 800 registrants enjoyed more than 80 technical presentation and 20 extended workshops over the two-and-a-half day conference.  Additionally, there was robust activity in the Exhibit Hall, where attendees could visit and learn from 90 vendors.  The annual Awards Dinner recognized six different bridges, including Pittsburgh’s very own Roberto Clemente (6th Street) Bridge – congratulations! The ESWP staff reports that many positive comments from attendees were received about the program, venue, and overall experience! Oh yeah, about that record setting IBC…the City of San Antonio recorded a record high heat index of 117 degrees on Day 2 of the IBC.

Best of IWC Webinar

The “Best of the IWC” webinar series kicks off on Wednesday, May 22. This is a great way to experience the technical content presented at ESWP’s International Water Conference®. Attendees will earn one Professional Development Hour (PDH). Please join us for encore presentations of IWC 23-45 and 23-16 on water reuse, and mining wastewater, respectively.  Visit our Events website for details and registration.  This is a FREE webinar!

PA Brownfields Conference Highlights

The 2024 Pennsylvania Brownfields Conference was held from March 25 to the 27th at the Penn Stater Conference Center in State College, PA.

With nearly 400 registrants in the conference, we started with the EPA Grant Writing workshop, followed by the CABIN Summit on Monday afternoon. Extras at the conference included a flyfishing expedition that received many very favorable comments. Monday evenings Welcome Reception was held at the Axemann Brewery and provided a great networking opportunity for the attendees after a four year hiatus from the previous conference. Tuesday and Wednesday were filled with multiple breakout sessions that were all very well attended – thanks to all of the presenters in the sessions for providing great content. In addition, there were several plenary sessions where speakers from EPA, and DEP, provided keynote comments. We also featured two lunchtime plenary sessions with book author Joel Burcat, and Matt Ward that were well attended, and well received! Thanks to our exhibitors and sponsors for making this a very successful Brownfield Conference! Presentations, where permitted, can be viewed on the Program page found here:

We hope to see you all again at a future PA Brownfields Conference!

ESWP Engineering Awards Banquet News

The 140th ESWP Annual Banquet was held on March 21 with more than 525 guests!

It was a fantastic night, recognizing many of the outstanding engineering projects in the region and individuals who contribute to them! We thank all who attended and again extend congratulations to all the Award Recipients. For a full list of the awards, please visit:

ESWP Webinar Recap

Another great ESWP Webinar today, this time from Friends of the Riverfront!

Katie  and Kelsey delivered a fantastic presentation and are thankful to meet so many supporters! From Katie: “Thank you again for the opportunity to present to your group. It was fun to speak to a group who would really understand the nitty gritty of the trail development work we do. Please extend my appreciation to everyone for their time and questions/comments today!


click on image for their website