Engineers' Society of Western Pennsylvania


337 Fourth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Phone: (412) 261-0710 Email: Get Directions

Keynote Session

2021 Keynote Session

Monday, November 8, 2021

Time: 10:30 AM
Room: Salt River 2/3


Conference Chair

James (Jay) Harwood, SUEZ Water Technologies & Solutions






Keynote Speaker

Dr. Eric Hoek is a professor in UCLA’s Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, Institute of the Environment & Sustainability and the California NanoSystems Institute. He is also faculty director of the UCLA Sustainable LA Grand Challenge, a campus-wide initiative to transform Los Angeles into the first sustainable megacity by 2050.

Dr. Hoek’s academic work explores the union of membrane technologies, nanomaterials and electrochemistry for a more sustainable future. He has also applied this knowledge as an entrepreneur having co-invented/founded several technology companies (e.g., NanoH2O, Water Planet, PolyCera, IntelliFlux) and as a consultant having advised various international, federal and California state agencies, municipalities, technology companies, investment funds, law firms and research funding agencies.

Dr. Hoek has worked on applications including drinking water treatment, wastewater treatment, ocean and brackish water desalination, municipal and industrial water reuse, oil & gas produced water treatment, oil spill remediation, salinity gradient power, biogas production, kidney dialysis and protein purification. He has over 130 peer-reviewed scientific publications, over 70 patents filed globally, is the co-Editor-in-Chief of The Encyclopedia of Membrane Science and is the Editor-in-Chief of the Nature journal npj Clean Water. Dr. Hoek has a Ph.D. from Yale University, M.S. from UCLA, B.S. from Penn State and completed UCLA Anderson’s Executive Management and Director Education & Certification Programs.


The Annual Awards are presented to celebrate outstanding achievements in the water treatment industry. Awards can be found here.