Engineers' Society of Western Pennsylvania


337 Fourth Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Phone: (412) 261-0710 Email: Get Directions

Congratulations to… Kimberly Kennedy, P.E., ALCOSAN

Congratulations to Kimberly Kennedy, P.E. for receiving the 2021 Civil Engineer of the Year Award as presented by the Pittsburgh Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).

The award was presented at the National Engineers Week banquet held at the Engineer’s Society of Western Pennsylvania (ESWP) on Saturday, February 19. Kim is the Director of Engineering & Construction at ALCOSAN, and a member of the ESWP Board of Directors, chairing the Publications Committee!  Congratulations Kim!

Congratulations to… PGH Engineer Magazine

Thank you to the Pittsburgh Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) for recognizing the Pittsburgh ENGINEER magazine with their Journalism Award for 2021.

This award was presented at the National Engineers Week banquet held at ESWP on Saturday, February 19, in recognition of the focus and highlighting of civil engineering contributions as featured in the magazine. Click here to read the 2021 issues on our website. Thank you ASCE!

ESWP 2022 Officers and Board of Directors announced

The election for the 2022 ESWP Board closed on December 31, and congratulations to all the candidates upon their successful election, including incoming president Tammi A. Halapin, P.E.!

To view the full 2022 ESWP Board of Directors, please visit  A special thanks to all ESWP Board Members for their service to ESWP, but especially our outgoing Board Members, including Tom O’Toole who joined the Board in 2018, Doug Clark, who served on the Board since 2016 and chaired the Program Committee for many years, Jennifer Nolan-Kremm, who served on the Board since 2014 and chaired the Young Member Forum, Amy Veltri, who served as a Director since 2012 and most recently as Treasurer since 2017, and Bob Ward, who joined the Board in 2008, and now completed his term as Immediate Past President with more than 14 years of service.  To view the full 2022 ESWP Board of Directors, please visit


Michael Baker International News

Dan Laird has joined Michael Baker International’s Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, office, as Director of Client Relations responsible for business development in Western Pennsylvania and the surrounding region.

Dan will play a key role in driving the growth of the seven Pittsburgh Practice areas: Architecture, Bridges, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Construction Services, Land Development & Infrastructure, Planning, and Transportation. In addition to continuing to foster relationships with Michael Baker’s current valued clients and implementing strategies to accelerate business growth across the Region, Dan will also serve as a liaison with the many firms that Michael Baker does business with in the service of our clients.

Dan has honed his business development skills by working with A/E/C clients and legislative leaders throughout Western Pennsylvania over the past 20 years.

On his new role at Michael Baker, he said: “I believe collaboration, a strategic path forward, and clear communication are key to corporate goals, organizing growth and the alignment of community and industry partnerships. I’m excited to help enhance Michael Baker International’s presence and value in Western Pennsylvania.”

Most recently Dan served as the Director of Business Development for Hill International, overseeing business growth and opportunities in the Western Pennsylvania market.

Dan holds a Bachelor of Civil Engineering Technology degree from Point Park University. He serves in leadership roles on multiple engineering organizations, including the American Society of Highway Engineers (ASHE Pittsburgh), Southwestern Pennsylvania Engineering Outreach, Construction Management Association of America and March of Dimes Transportation, Building & Construction.

ESWP Golf Outing

The ESWP Annual Golf Outing was held on Monday, September 20 at the beautiful Sewickley Heights Golf Club!

The weather, golf course, and services provided were all spectacular! Thanks to all those who came out to support the outing including all of our sponsors listed below.

Berkeley Research Group, Constructors Association of Western Pennsylvania, ESS Next Tier Insurance,  Evoqua Water Technologies, Gannett Fleming, KU Resources, McKim & Creed, Michael Baker International, R.T. Patterson Co. Special thanks to Wayne Johnson for chairing this year’s outing!

News from Pennoni!

Pennoni is excited to announce the promotion of Jennifer Laning, PE to Principal Bridge Inspection Leader! Laning is currently an Associate Vice President in the Transportation Division with a primary focus in bridge inspections and project management. She also serves Pennoni as a Bridge Inspection Practice Leader, headquartered in the Baltimore, MD office.

This recognition is to acknowledge all her accomplishments in the transportation space and applaud her for growing the Maryland, Virginia, and Delaware markets as well as her work as a mentor to other bridge engineers.

Before coming to Pennoni, Laning was a part of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in bridge program management, rehabilitation and repair of bridges, coordination of projects with multiple agencies, leading multidisciplinary design teams, and bridge inspection.

Congratulations Jen!!!

View the LinkedIn post